MS Latest

Celebrate the 120th anniversary of Agatha Christie with Mystery Scene and the B&N Book Club.

MS Latest


Join Mystery Scene for a special Twitter event hosted by MASTERPIECE Mystery! (Sunday, July 11, 9-11 p.m. EST)

MS Latest

The 2010 Arthur Ellis Awards nominations have been announced by the Crime Writers of Canada. The winners will be announced during a ceremony on May 27 in Toronto. Congratulations to the nominees!

Best Crime Novel
Finger’s Twist, by Lee Lamothe (Ravenstone)
Death Spiral, by James W. Nichol (McArthur & Co.)
Aloha, Candy Hearts, by Anthony Bidulka (Insomniac Press)
Arctic Blue Death, by R.J. Harlick (RendezVous Crime)
High Chicago, by Howard Shrier (Vintage Canada/Random House)

Best First Crime Novel
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, by Alan Bradley (Doubleday Canada)
The Cold Light of Mourning, by Elizabeth Duncan (Minotaur Books)
Weight of Stones, by C.B. Forrest (RendezVous Crime)
A Magpie’s Smile, by Eugene Meese (NeWest Press)
Darkness at the Break of Dawn, by Dennis Richard Murphy (Harper Collins)

Best French Language Crime Novel
Je compte les morts, by Genevieve Lefebvre (Groupe Librex)
Le mort du chemin des Arsène, by Jean Lemieux (la courtee echelle)
La Faim de la Terre, Volumes 1 & 2, by Jean Jacques Pelletier (Editions Alire Inc.)
Peaux de chagrins, by Diane Vincent (Les Editions Triptyques)

Best Juvenile Crime Novel
Haunted, by Barbara Hayworth Attard (HarperCollins)
Not Suitable for Family Viewing, by Vicki Grant (HarperCollins)
Homicide Related, by Norah McClintock (Red Deer Press)
The Hunchback Assignments, by Arthur Slade (HarperCollins)
The Uninvited, by Tim Wynne Jones (Candlewick)

Best Crime Non-fiction
The Slasher Killings, by Patrick Brode (Painted Turtle Press)
The Fat Mexican, by Alex Caine (Random House of Canada)
Murder Without Borders, by Terry Gould (Random House of Canada)
Runaway Devil, by Robert Remington and Sherri Zickefoose (McClelland)
Postmortem, by Jon Wells (John Wiley & Sons)

Best Crime Short Story
• “Backup,” by Rick Mofina (Ottawa Magazine, July/August 2009)
• “Prisoner in Paradise,” by Dennis Richard Murphy (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM])
• “Nothing Is Easy,” by James Petrin (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine)
• “Time Will Tell,” by Twist Phelan (in The Prosecution Rests, edited by Linda Fairstein; Little Brown/Back Bay Books)
• “Clowntown Pajamas,” by James Powell (EQMM)

Best Unpublished First Crime Novel (The Unhanged Arthur)
This Cage of Bones, by Pam Barnsley
Confined Space, by Deryn Collier
Corpse Flower, by Gloria Ferris
Bait of Pleasure, by Blair Hemstock
Putting Them Down, by Peter Kirby

MS Latest

The 2009 Agatha Awards were given May 1, 2010, during the Malice Domestic conference. Congratulations to all the winners, as well to the nominees!

Best Novel
A Brutal Telling by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)

Best First Novel
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley (Delacorte Press)

Best Non-fiction
Dame Agatha’s Shorts by Elena Santangelo (Bella Rosa Books)

Best Short Story
“On the House” by Hank Phillippi Ryan, Quarry (Level Best Books)

Best Children’s/Young Adult
The Hanging Hill by Chris Grabenstein (Random House)

MS Latest

Congratulations to this year's Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award winners, announced last week. The winners are...

Best Novel
The Last Child, by John Hart

Best First Novel
In the Shadow of Gotham, by Stefanie Pintoff

Best Paperback Original
Body Blows, by Marc Strange

Best Critical/Biographical Book
The Lineup: The World's Greatest Crime Writers Tell the Inside Story of Their Greatest Detectives, edited by Otto Penzler

Best Fact Crime
Columbine, by Dave Cullen

Best Short Story
"Amapola" in Pheonix Noir, by Luis Alberto Urrea

Best Young Adult Novel
Reality Check, by Peter Abrahams

Best Juvenile
Closed for the Season, by Mary Downing Hahn

Best Television Episode Teleplay
"Place of Execution," Teleplay by Patrick Harbinson

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award
"A Dreadful Day" from Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine by Dan Warthman

Simon & Schuster - Mary Higgins Clark Award
Awakening by S.J. Bolton

Grand Master
Dorothy Gilman

Raven Awards
Mystery Lovers Bookshop, Oakmont, Pennsylvania
Zev Buffman, International Mystery Writers' Festival

Ellery Queen Award
Poisoned Pen Press (Barbara Peters & Robert Rosenwald)


(Mystery Scene continues its ongoing series in which authors talk about their plots, characters, or process.)

J.J. Hensley, left, is a former police officer and former special agent with the U.S. Secret Service. He is the author of the novels Re


The award season continues with nominations for the 2018 Agatha, which will be awarded during the Malice Domestic conference, which is celebrating its 30th year.

The nominees represent those books pu


Mystery Writers of America has its own way of celebrating the birth of Edgar Allan Poe—announcing the nominations for the Edgar Allan Poe Awards. January 19 is the 209th anniversary of Poe’s birthd