Mystery Scene

Crime Writers of Canada (CWC) announced the Winners for the 2023 Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing on May 25, 2023.

Since 1984, Crime Writers of Canada has recognized the best in mystery, crime, and suspense fiction, and crime nonfiction by Canadian authors, including citizens abroad and new residents.

Mystery Scene congratulates all the winners.

Best Crime Novel

Going to Beautiful, by Anthony Bidulka (Stonehouse Publishing)

Best Crime First Novel

Citizens of Light, by Sam Shelstad (TouchWood Editions)

The Howard Engel Award for Best Crime Novel Set in Canada

A Snake in the Raspberry Patch, by Joanne Jackson (Stonehouse Publishing)

The Whodunit Award for Best Traditional Mystery

Deep House, by Thomas King (HarperCollins Canada)

Best Crime Novella

"The Man Who Went Down Under," by Alexis Stefanovich-Thomson (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazines)

Best Crime Short Story

The Girl Who Was Only Three Quarters Dead, by Craig H. Bowlsby (Mystery Magazine)

Best French Crime Book (Fiction and Nonfiction)

Monsieur Hämmerli, by Richard Ste-Marie (Éditions Alire)

Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book (Fiction and Nonfiction)

Heartbreak Homes, by Jo Treggiari (Nimbus Publishing Limited)

The Brass Knuckles Award for Best Nonfiction Crime Book

The Betrayal of Anne Frank: A Cold Case Investigation, by Rosemary Sullivan (HarperCollins Canada)

The Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript

Snowed, by Mary Keenan